RSS Newsfeeds

See all RSS Newsfeeds

Oct 17, 2015 12:21 PM ET

Archived: Emerging Theatre Directors Bursary: Support our unique programme and give 4 of SA’s best young directors the space and opportunity to create fresh new work.

iCrowdNewswire - Oct 17, 2015


Theatre Arts Admin Collective Presents:
Emerging Theatre Directors Bursary
Support our unique programme and give 4 of SA’s best young directors
the space and opportunity to create fresh new work.


When you think of many of the young directors whose work has taken the industry by storm – Amy Jephta, Tara Notcutt, Kim Kerfoot, Thando Doni, Nicola Elliott, Alan Parker, Phala Ookeditse Phala, Lydia Marelic, Dom Gumede, Pusetso Thibedi and Bulelani Mabutyana – what is common amongst them beyond the myriad of awards that they have won, is that all have been recipients of the Theatre Arts Admin Collective Emerging Theatre Directors Bursary over the last 4 years.

Looking back through SA’s more recent history, it was theatre during the apartheid years that kept the idea of freedom alive.  Made by young, radical theatre makers, it was the voices of the young who challenged, provoked and ultimately gave hope to South Africans.  Post Democracy the landscape of our theatre industry changed, became more inaccessible for new directors. A theatre dominated by old established voices reflects a society that is conservative, unchanging and unwilling to challenge the status quo. It is vitally important that the industry embraces young and creative spirits essential to the moral and political health of our society.

The importance of the Theatre Arts Admin Collective Emerging Theatre Directors Bursary over the last 4 years is that it has changed the industry.  Not only has it launched the careers of some of our best young directors, it has created a new space and status for young voices in traditional institutions, it has raised awareness around the need to mentor and nurture new directors, it has inspired other organisations to extend their support to new directors, it has brought a new diversity to the recognised makers of theatre and it has literally made the industry sit up and take notice of who wins the bursary.

Bursary winners are selected through an extensive, nationwide call for application and a detailed selection process.

Each bursary offers a young director:

– A mentor
– Admin and Publicity support
– 1 month of rehearsal space
– 1 month’s salary
– 1 month’s salary for between 3 and 5 actors
– Production costs plus the use of the Baxter Theatre Centre resources: production manager advice, wardrobe, props department etc
– 1 week of performance
– Comprehensive documentation of the performance

The value of 1 bursary is R40 000.

Originally supported and established through funding received from Distell, the Gordon Institute for the Performing and Creative Arts (GIPCA) and Business and Arts South Africa (BASA) and with ongoing support from The Baxter Theatre Centre, we are looking to engage members of the industry and society at large in the investment of the bursary and its contribution to a growing and thriving cultural life for all.

By supporting the Emerging Theatre Directors Bursary, you are contributing towards building a dynamic, youthful and invigorated theatre industry that speaks meaningfully to a contemporary audience, has the capacity and skills to create ground-breaking work that is recognised both locally and internationally and invests in young visionaries whose stories can change our perceptions of ourselves, each other and the course of our future.

                                      Lidija Marelic, a 2012 winner, whose new play which she co-wrote
                                      with Aimee Goldsmith and directed, Cheers to Sarajevo, was
                                      performed at POPArt in Johannesburg to rave reviews.
                  Phala Ookeditse Phala, a 2013 winner, whose Kafka’s Ape
                  has just won the Standard Bank Silver Ovation Award at the
                  National Arts Festival 2015.


Milestone 1 –  R20 000
The Tipping Point
Provides a bare-bones bursary to 1 emerging director to create a new piece of work to be performed to an audience

Milestone 2 – R96 000
Provides 2 full bursaries to 2 emerging directors that includes the publication of their scripts

Milestone 3 – R160 000
Provides 4 full bursaries to 4 emerging directors

Be a luminary.
Join young artists at the beginning of their careers and be able to say “I was there!”

Buy Rewards and share the crowdfunding campaign: www.thundafund.com/TheatreArtsAdmin

Anele Situlweni and Miki-Dene le Roux play Can Themba
and Janet Hart in Khayelihle Dom Gumede’s production of
Crepuscule.Crepuscule has been published by Junkets
Press and has just completed a sold out run at The Market
(July – Aug 2015).
Poster of The Treatment, directed by Thenjiwe                             
 Stemela, 2013 winner.                            

                                                                                                                      Ntombi Makhutshi, Kabi Thulo and Muziek Sensation in Thando Doni’s Eutopia

Cape Argus article on Nicola Elliott, 2012 winner



Contact Information:

Theatre Arts Admin Collective

View Related News >